Previous Page

Whatcom Museum - Old City Hall

121 Prospect St., Bellingham, WA

Phone:
1-(360)-778-8930

Website:
www.whatcommuseum.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

What Lies Beneath: Minerals of the Pacific Northwest

Nature

The Whatcom Museum has partnered with members of the Friends of Mineralogy – Pacific Northwest Chapter to present an incredible display of minerals collected throughout the Pacific Northwest. From those the size of a fingernail to those requiring a forklift, learn how minerals are formed and where they are found. See the collector’s “tools of the trade” and marvel at the extremes some will go to find the perfect specimen. Photos and video document the field work involved and help us understand where these minerals are formed and how they are collected. Complementing the exhibition will be a variety of programs and hands-on activities.

Information:

• Thu 8/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 8/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 8/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 8/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 8/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 8/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 8/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 8/31/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 9/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 9/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Travelogue: Kurt McCalla’s Amazing Adventure

Talks/Lectures

Join Kurt McCalla, a member of Max Higbee, and his support team, as he shares his grand travel adventure in April, where he spent four fun-packed days in San Francisco, exploring his passion for science, sea life, and books while enjoying the sights, sounds, and tastes of the big city!

Information:

• Thu 9/5/19 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

What Lies Beneath: Minerals of the Pacific Northwest

Nature

The Whatcom Museum has partnered with members of the Friends of Mineralogy – Pacific Northwest Chapter to present an incredible display of minerals collected throughout the Pacific Northwest. From those the size of a fingernail to those requiring a forklift, learn how minerals are formed and where they are found. See the collector’s “tools of the trade” and marvel at the extremes some will go to find the perfect specimen. Photos and video document the field work involved and help us understand where these minerals are formed and how they are collected. Complementing the exhibition will be a variety of programs and hands-on activities.

Information:

• Fri 9/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 9/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 9/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 9/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

25 Years of the Whatcom Artist Studio Tour

Art Show

Join the Advocates for a panel discussion and slideshow featuring local artists Brian O’Neil, R.R. Clark “Fishboy,” Karen & Vernon Leibrant, and Joy Olney who are participating in the Whatcom Artist Studio Tour. The artists, whose artwork highlights a variety of mediums, will discuss their art and processes. The Whatcom Artist Studio Tour takes place October 5–6 and 12–13 and offers the public an opportunity to visit artists’ working studios and gain insight into the creative process, as well as an opportunity for people to purchase art directly from artists.

Information:

• Thu 9/12/19 at - 12:00 PM

What Lies Beneath: Minerals of the Pacific Northwest

Nature

The Whatcom Museum has partnered with members of the Friends of Mineralogy – Pacific Northwest Chapter to present an incredible display of minerals collected throughout the Pacific Northwest. From those the size of a fingernail to those requiring a forklift, learn how minerals are formed and where they are found. See the collector’s “tools of the trade” and marvel at the extremes some will go to find the perfect specimen. Photos and video document the field work involved and help us understand where these minerals are formed and how they are collected. Complementing the exhibition will be a variety of programs and hands-on activities.

Information:

• Fri 9/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 9/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 9/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 9/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Travelogue: Lawrence Wong Shares About Amazing Namibia

Talks/Lectures

Lawrence Wong and his wife Giovanna love travelling and photography. They have taken self-organized travels to Iceland, Peru, and New Zealand, as well as a 45-day cross-country RV trip. Recently, Lawrence traveled on a 23-day photographic guided trip to Namibia and Victoria Falls. With diverse ecology, landscapes, and cultures, Namibia has become one of the most-visited eco-tourism countries in Africa, especially for photographers. In this presentation, Lawrence will share photos and videos from his trip.

Information:

• Thu 9/19/19 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Tag Sale Preview Party

Benefit/Fundraiser

The early bird gets the worm, or in this case, the best deals. Purchase tickets for the Tag Sale Preview Party to be among the first to shop the sale. Beat the crowds, enjoy a glass of wine and refreshments, and make some great finds. Tickets are limited and only available while supplies last on BrownPaperTickets.com/event/4272783. Proceeds from the Tag Sale and Preview Party benefit Museum programs and exhibitions.

Information:

• Fri 9/20/19 at 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

What Lies Beneath: Minerals of the Pacific Northwest

Nature

The Whatcom Museum has partnered with members of the Friends of Mineralogy – Pacific Northwest Chapter to present an incredible display of minerals collected throughout the Pacific Northwest. From those the size of a fingernail to those requiring a forklift, learn how minerals are formed and where they are found. See the collector’s “tools of the trade” and marvel at the extremes some will go to find the perfect specimen. Photos and video document the field work involved and help us understand where these minerals are formed and how they are collected. Complementing the exhibition will be a variety of programs and hands-on activities.

Information:

• Fri 9/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 9/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

14th Annual Tag Sale

Benefit/Fundraiser

Help the hard-working Whatcom Museum Advocates raise funds for exhibitions and programming by shopping at the 14th annual Tag Sale. With a wide selection of fine art, china, jewelry, holiday décor, small furnishings, and household items for sale, there’s something for everyone. Score some deals, discover new treasures, and support the Museum all at the same time.

Information:

• Sat 9/21/19 at 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Fourth Sundays: Audubon at the Museum

Talks/Lectures

Join experts from the North Cascades Audubon Society in the John M. Edson Hall of Birds to learn about migration, conservation, birds in peril, and the importance of studying bird specimens today. The exhibit provides a variety of interactives, including video and audio files, and hands-on activities for children. All ages welcome.

Information:

• Sun 9/22/19 at 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

What Lies Beneath: Minerals of the Pacific Northwest

Nature

The Whatcom Museum has partnered with members of the Friends of Mineralogy – Pacific Northwest Chapter to present an incredible display of minerals collected throughout the Pacific Northwest. From those the size of a fingernail to those requiring a forklift, learn how minerals are formed and where they are found. See the collector’s “tools of the trade” and marvel at the extremes some will go to find the perfect specimen. Photos and video document the field work involved and help us understand where these minerals are formed and how they are collected. Complementing the exhibition will be a variety of programs and hands-on activities.

Information:

• Sun 9/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 9/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 9/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 9/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 9/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 10/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 10/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 10/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 10/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 10/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 10/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 10/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 10/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Whatcom Artist Studio Tour 2019 Showcase

Art Show

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the Whatcom Artist Studio Tour. Each year the two-weekend event offers visitors insight into the creative process, work-life, and work-environment of nearly 40 artists. For the third year, the Museum will provide a showcase of select artworks from several participating Studio Tour artists.

Information:

• Sat 8/3/19 - Sun 10/13/19 at

What Lies Beneath: Minerals of the Pacific Northwest

Nature

The Whatcom Museum has partnered with members of the Friends of Mineralogy – Pacific Northwest Chapter to present an incredible display of minerals collected throughout the Pacific Northwest. From those the size of a fingernail to those requiring a forklift, learn how minerals are formed and where they are found. See the collector’s “tools of the trade” and marvel at the extremes some will go to find the perfect specimen. Photos and video document the field work involved and help us understand where these minerals are formed and how they are collected. Complementing the exhibition will be a variety of programs and hands-on activities.

Information:

• Wed 10/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 10/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 10/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 10/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 10/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 10/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 10/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 10/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 10/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 10/31/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 11/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 11/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 11/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 11/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 11/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 11/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 11/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 11/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 11/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 11/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 11/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 11/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 11/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 11/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 11/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 12/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 12/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 12/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 12/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 12/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 12/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 12/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 12/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 12/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 12/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 12/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 12/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/1/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/2/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/3/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 1/4/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/5/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/8/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/9/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/10/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 1/11/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/12/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/15/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/16/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/17/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 1/18/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/19/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/22/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/23/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/24/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 1/25/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/26/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 1/29/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/30/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/31/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 2/1/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/2/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM