Previous Page

Whatcom Museum - Old City Hall

121 Prospect St., Bellingham, WA

Phone:
1-(360)-778-8930

Website:
www.whatcommuseum.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

Deck the Old City Hall

Community Event, Holiday

Get in the holiday spirit with the Whatcom Museum's annual festivities! Historic Old City Hall will be decked out for the season. View a variety of themed, decorated holiday trees in the Rotunda Room of Old City Hall. Admission is by donation, and proceeds are used to support the Museum's rich offerings of exhibitions and programming. Sponsored by the Museum Advocates and the Foundation Board of Directors.

Information:

• Fri 11/23/18 - Sun 12/30/18 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Other Upcoming Events

Bellingham High School (BHS) Showstoppers Sing Holiday Favorites

Choral, Holiday

The BHS Showstoppers spread holiday magic with their seasonal favorites and annual choreographed medley. This outstanding, small mixed vocal ensemble is auditioned out of three choral ensembles at BHS, and is led by director Linda Short. Get into the spirit of the season with the Showstoppers!

Information:

• Thu 12/13/18 at 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Annual History Holiday Open Mic

Talks/Lectures, Holiday

Historical Society members, and the public, are welcome to participate and share in a fun evening of holiday cheer at the annual history holiday open mic. Presentations can be about local history research, interesting artifacts, and more. Members and friends are welcome to join the event, which will include a brief annual business meeting. Holiday refreshments will be served.

Information:

• Thu 12/13/18 at 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Sin & Gin Snapshots with the Good Time Girls

Talks/Lectures

Join the Museum Advocates for a presentation by the Good Time Girls. Every summer the Good Time Girls offer “Sin & Gin” tours of downtown Bellingham and Fairhaven. Sin & Gin tours take participants on a journey into the lives of some of the lesser-known communities and characters who shaped the town we know today, including sex workers, teetotalers, rough 'n tumble laborers, immigrants, rum-runners, and traveling preachers because their history is our history. Join Kolby and Wren, co-owners of Bellinghistory, home of the Good Time Girls, for a presentation of “Sin & Gin” snapshots and insight.

Information:

• Thu 1/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

A Home on the South Fork – An Early History of Acme

Talks/Lectures

Join the Historical Society for a presentation by Margaret Hellyer who will talk about her new, book, A Home on the South Fork, An Early History of Acme—A Northwest Washington Community. Her self-published book traces the earliest beginnings of the Whatcom County community of Acme, starting with the first land claims in the 1880s through the growth years and the Great Depression. This story begins with some of the first families and their rugged journey into this wilderness, including contact with the Nooksack Indians. It follows their subsequent settlement through documented records, interviews, letters, a wealth of rare photographs, and other memorabilia reflecting the life and times of the early pioneers and those who followed. In addition to covering various aspects of Whatcom County history, the book also includes brief histories of neighboring South Fork communities.

Information:

• Thu 1/10/19 at 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Travelogue: Bumpy Travels Through Bangladesh

Talks/Lectures

Jake Strauss shares his three-week trip through the most densely populated city in the world, Dhaka; by water in the largest contiguous mangrove forest in the world in Sundarbans; and a foray into the troubled eastern highlands. Discover this small country bursting with an underlay of Buddhist, Hindu and Muslim history. Light refreshments served. No need to pre-register, just bring your curiosity. Co-presented by Bellingham Parks & Recreation.

Information:

• Thu 1/17/19 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Washington Remembers WWII: Their Sacrifice. Our Freedom.

Installations

The exhibit Washington Remembers WWII: Their Sacrifice. Our Freedom. at the Whatcom Museum's Old City Hall is full of emotion-packed stories documenting the personal experiences of men and women who fought for freedom on the battlefield and on the home-front. The Legacy Washington exhibit was created through the Office of the Secretary of State to honor the tens of thousands of Washingtonians who served in the war. In addition to the Legacy stories, the exhibit will highlight a variety of WWII artifacts, documents, and historic photographs from the Whatcom Museum’s collection.

Information:

• Sat 1/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Rare Bird: Pursuing the Mystery of the Marbled Murrelet

Talks/Lectures

Join the North Cascades Audubon Society for a presentation by Maria Mudd Ruth, author of Rare Bird: Pursuing the Mystery of the Marbled Murrelet, which celebrates the world of this endearing and endangered seabird of the Pacific Northwest. While researching and writing this book, Maria found herself exploring larger questions: Why does the fate of a single species matter to us? Why and how should we care about the murrelet and the forests where it nests? Do we have a moral obligation to save this bird? Maria has published more than a dozen natural history books including A Sideways Look at Clouds. She is an advocate for the protection of the marbled murrelet, the state forests where it nests, and her local urban forests and wildlife.

Information:

• Tue 1/22/19 at 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Washington Remembers WWII: Their Sacrifice. Our Freedom.

Installations

The exhibit Washington Remembers WWII: Their Sacrifice. Our Freedom. at the Whatcom Museum's Old City Hall is full of emotion-packed stories documenting the personal experiences of men and women who fought for freedom on the battlefield and on the home-front. The Legacy Washington exhibit was created through the Office of the Secretary of State to honor the tens of thousands of Washingtonians who served in the war. In addition to the Legacy stories, the exhibit will highlight a variety of WWII artifacts, documents, and historic photographs from the Whatcom Museum’s collection.

Information:

• Wed 1/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 1/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 1/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Fourth Sundays: Audubon at the Museum

Talks/Lectures

Drop-in at Old City Hall and talk to experts from North Cascades Audubon Society in the John M. Edson Hall of Birds. In addition to displays of more than 500 mounted birds, the exhibit provides opportunities to learn about migration, conservation, birds in peril, and the importance of studying bird specimens today. The exhibit provides a variety of interactives, including video and audio files, and hands-on activities for children. All ages welcome.

Information:

• Sun 1/27/19 at 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Washington Remembers WWII: Their Sacrifice. Our Freedom.

Installations

The exhibit Washington Remembers WWII: Their Sacrifice. Our Freedom. at the Whatcom Museum's Old City Hall is full of emotion-packed stories documenting the personal experiences of men and women who fought for freedom on the battlefield and on the home-front. The Legacy Washington exhibit was created through the Office of the Secretary of State to honor the tens of thousands of Washingtonians who served in the war. In addition to the Legacy stories, the exhibit will highlight a variety of WWII artifacts, documents, and historic photographs from the Whatcom Museum’s collection.

Information:

• Wed 1/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/31/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 2/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 2/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 2/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 2/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 2/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 2/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 2/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 2/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 2/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 2/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 2/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 2/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 2/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 3/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 3/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 3/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 3/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 3/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 3/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 3/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 3/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

The Elephant in the Room: The Allure of Ivory and its Tragic Legacy

Art Show

In conjunction with our Lightcatcher exhibition, Endangered Species: Artists on the Front Line of Biodiversity, the Museum will explore the story of ivory from pre-history to modern times, featuring a selection of ivory from the collection, research in elephant communications, the devastating effects of ivory hunting, and how organizations are trying to save this these incredible animals.

Information:

• Sat 9/8/18 - Sun 3/31/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM