Previous Page

Museum of Northwest Art

121 South First St., La Conner, WA

Phone:
1-(360)-466-4446

Website:
www.museumofnwart.org/

Get Directions

Upcoming Events

The Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman

Art Show

The Museum of Northwest Art presents the creative world of Joan Kirkman in the Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman. Joan was a leading fashion illustrator for Frederick & Nelson, The Bon Marche, I. Magnin, and Best Apparel (formally Nordstrom). Throughout her 40-year career as a successful illustrator, Joan was a gifted and accomplished oil and watercolor painter influenced by Post-Impressionists. As a member of the Art Departments at the University of Washington and Western Washington University, she influenced many students.

Information:

• Sun 8/18/19 at
• Mon 8/19/19 at
• Tue 8/20/19 at
• Wed 8/21/19 at
• Thu 8/22/19 at
• Fri 8/23/19 at
• Sat 8/24/19 at

Sumi Fun for All Ages

Drawings/Works on Paper

Learn basic Sumi skills and experiment with Sumi materials with Janet Laurel. In this class, participants will start with simple calligraphy of Japanese numbers and then move onto painting simple flowers and rocks inspired by our local art & environment. The painting will be with black and shades of grey as the black Sumi ink is the backbone on Sumi painting. This class is excellent for both children and adults.

Information:

• Sat 8/24/19 at 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

The Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman

Art Show

The Museum of Northwest Art presents the creative world of Joan Kirkman in the Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman. Joan was a leading fashion illustrator for Frederick & Nelson, The Bon Marche, I. Magnin, and Best Apparel (formally Nordstrom). Throughout her 40-year career as a successful illustrator, Joan was a gifted and accomplished oil and watercolor painter influenced by Post-Impressionists. As a member of the Art Departments at the University of Washington and Western Washington University, she influenced many students.

Information:

• Sun 8/25/19 at
• Mon 8/26/19 at
• Tue 8/27/19 at
• Wed 8/28/19 at
• Thu 8/29/19 at
• Fri 8/30/19 at
• Sat 8/31/19 at

Drawing Lines and Seeing Form

Drawings/Works on Paper

Come to MoNA for an inventive drawing workshop with artist Jean Behnke and begin drawing or re-awaken your practice. This workshop explores the process of drawing using solid graphite pencils. Drawing fundamentals are integrated throughout the day for participants to learn new drawing skills and cultivate awareness about value, texture, line quality and how line can suggest spatial depth.

Information:

• Sat 8/31/19 at 1:00 PM - 4:30 PM

The Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman

Art Show

The Museum of Northwest Art presents the creative world of Joan Kirkman in the Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman. Joan was a leading fashion illustrator for Frederick & Nelson, The Bon Marche, I. Magnin, and Best Apparel (formally Nordstrom). Throughout her 40-year career as a successful illustrator, Joan was a gifted and accomplished oil and watercolor painter influenced by Post-Impressionists. As a member of the Art Departments at the University of Washington and Western Washington University, she influenced many students.

Information:

• Sun 9/1/19 at
• Mon 9/2/19 at
• Tue 9/3/19 at
• Wed 9/4/19 at
• Thu 9/5/19 at
• Fri 9/6/19 at
• Sat 9/7/19 at

Washington's Undiscovered Feminists

Talks/Lectures

In commemoration of the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage, remember some of the remarkable, but often unsung, women of the Pacific Northwest. Writer Mayumi Tsutakawa presents five “woman warriors” in the arts and journalism whose inspiring stories reach back to the early years of our region. Meet the pioneering photographer Imogen Cunningham, Black American jazz musician Ruby Bishop, Chinese American artist Priscilla Chong Jue, Leftist journalist Anna Louise Strong, and Native American linguist Vi Hilbert. Drawing on her own experience as an activist and writer, she explores how these women inspired others and changed our state and our society.

Information:

• Sat 9/7/19 at 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM

The Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman

Art Show

The Museum of Northwest Art presents the creative world of Joan Kirkman in the Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman. Joan was a leading fashion illustrator for Frederick & Nelson, The Bon Marche, I. Magnin, and Best Apparel (formally Nordstrom). Throughout her 40-year career as a successful illustrator, Joan was a gifted and accomplished oil and watercolor painter influenced by Post-Impressionists. As a member of the Art Departments at the University of Washington and Western Washington University, she influenced many students.

Information:

• Sun 9/8/19 at
• Mon 9/9/19 at
• Tue 9/10/19 at
• Wed 9/11/19 at
• Thu 9/12/19 at
• Fri 9/13/19 at
• Sat 9/14/19 at
• Sun 9/15/19 at
• Mon 9/16/19 at
• Tue 9/17/19 at
• Wed 9/18/19 at
• Thu 9/19/19 at
• Fri 9/20/19 at
• Sat 9/21/19 at

PechaKucha Night La Conner

Talks/Lectures

Join your community for a fun, fast-paced PechaKucha Night in La Conner. The theme is “Untold Stories of Strong Women”, and there will be a cash bar.

Information:

• Sat 9/21/19 at 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

The Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman

Art Show

The Museum of Northwest Art presents the creative world of Joan Kirkman in the Art and Legacy of Joan Kirkman. Joan was a leading fashion illustrator for Frederick & Nelson, The Bon Marche, I. Magnin, and Best Apparel (formally Nordstrom). Throughout her 40-year career as a successful illustrator, Joan was a gifted and accomplished oil and watercolor painter influenced by Post-Impressionists. As a member of the Art Departments at the University of Washington and Western Washington University, she influenced many students.

Information:

• Sun 9/22/19 at