Previous Page

Sylvia Center for the Arts

205 Prospect St., Bellingham, WA

Phone:
1ERROR

Get Directions

Upcoming Events

AN iLiAD, by Lisa Peterson & Denis O’Hare

Drama, Play, Solo Performance

Set in an empty theater in the present, Lisa Peterson and Denis O’Hare’s beautiful adaptation of the ancient Greek classic turns an epic celebration of war into a haunting, poetic reminder of war’s human cost. An arresting, not-to-be-missed solo performance by iDiOM Theater founder Glenn Apollo Hergenhahn-Zhao. Performances Thu/Fri/Sat, Aug 10–12, Aug 17–19 & Aug 24–26, 7:30pm, at Sylvia Center for the Arts. Thursday, Aug 10 preview FREE TO ALL, thanks to our Public Tickets program! Friday, Aug 11: Opening Reception – $25, includes refreshments All other performances $12 for Sylvia Center members / $15 for non-members

Information:

• Thu 8/17/17 at - 7:30 PM
• Fri 8/18/17 at - 7:30 PM
• Sat 8/19/17 at - 7:30 PM
• Thu 8/24/17 at - 7:30 PM
• Fri 8/25/17 at - 7:30 PM
• Sat 8/26/17 at - 7:30 PM

Theater Classes: Fall Playwriting Course

Class/Workshop, Education

A three-month, six-class course in writing for the stage, taught by iDiOM Theater Artistic Director Glenn Hergenhahn-Zhao. In our first three-month writing class, we will focus on playwriting from the ground up. Students will have opportunity to see their work rehearsed and staged, and will leave the class with finished one-act plays. Learn about: • Play Structure; • Creating Characters; • Dialogue; • Storytelling; • Time Travel; • Theater History; • Script Analysis; • Writing for Actors; • The Art of the Monologue; • The Art of the 10-Minute Play. Playwrights who successfully complete this course will be eligible to continue with our year-round writing program focused on full-length plays. SCHEDULE: Sat, September 9, 1–4pm; Sat, September 23, 1–4pm; Sat, October 14, 1–4pm; Sat, October 28, 1–4pm; Sat, November 11, 1–4pm; Sat, December 2, 1–4pm. TUITION: $200 for Sylvia Center Members (join at http://wwwsylviacenterforthearts.org); $250 for non-members.

Information:

• Sat 9/9/17 at - 1:00 PM