Previous Page

Special Collections (Wilson Library 6th floor) - Western Libraries - Western Washington University

516 High St., Bellingham, WA

Phone:
1-(360)-650-7747

Website:
library.wwu.edu/hr

Get Directions

Featured Event

To the Mountaintop: A Social History of Mountaineering

Education

Mountains are as much a part of the human psyche as they are a part of the landscape. In his last speech, Martin Luther King spoke of having “been to the mountaintop” and seen a land of greater promise, and Americans proudly sing the lines, “From every mountainside, let freedom ring.” Literally and symbolically, mountains are a source of liberation. But in helping some reach new heights, mountains have also been the backdrop to past and present struggles that have left others feeling looked down on. This exhibition features historical materials from Western Libraries Heritage Resources that explore the complex relationship between our love of high altitudes and issues of gender, race, and class.

Information:

• Mon 11/19/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 11/20/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 11/21/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 11/22/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 11/23/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 11/26/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 11/27/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 11/28/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 11/29/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 11/30/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 12/3/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 12/4/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 12/5/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 12/6/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 12/7/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 12/10/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 12/11/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 12/12/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 12/13/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 12/14/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 12/17/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 12/18/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 12/19/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 12/20/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 12/21/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 12/24/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 12/25/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 12/26/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 12/27/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 12/28/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 12/31/18 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 1/1/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 1/2/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 1/3/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 1/4/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 1/7/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 1/8/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 1/9/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 1/10/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 1/11/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 1/14/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 1/15/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 1/16/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 1/17/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 1/18/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 1/21/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 1/22/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 1/23/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 1/24/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 1/25/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 1/28/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 1/29/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 1/30/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 1/31/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 2/1/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 2/4/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 2/5/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 2/6/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 2/7/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 2/8/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 2/11/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 2/12/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 2/13/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 2/14/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 2/15/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 2/18/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 2/19/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 2/20/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 2/21/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 2/22/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 2/25/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 2/26/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 2/27/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 2/28/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 3/1/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 3/4/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 3/5/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 3/6/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 3/7/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 3/8/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 3/11/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 3/12/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 3/13/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 3/14/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 3/15/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 3/18/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 3/19/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 3/20/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 3/21/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 3/22/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Other Upcoming Events

No upcoming events