Previous Page

Special Collections (Wilson Library 6th floor) - Western Libraries - Western Washington University

516 High St., Bellingham, WA

Phone:
1-(360)-650-7747

Website:
library.wwu.edu/hr

Get Directions

Featured Event

No upcoming events

Other Upcoming Events

Nobody Goes Home Sad: Photographs of the Gallery 6 Poets, 1956-2015

Art Show, Installations, History/Science, Photography

Historical photographs by Walter Lehrman and John Suiter showing intimate portraits of trailblazing poets and authors from the Beat generation of the 1950s. Featured poets include Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, Gary Snyder, Michael McClure, and Philip Whalen, who are shown attending parties, sitting for impromptu portrait paintings, and giving public readings of their work. This series of rare photographs and original publications gives a glimpse into the lives and inspiration of these great figures of 20th century literature. The exhibit is free and open to the public, and is available for viewing Monday-Friday from 11:00am-4:00pm (closed weekends and holidays) in Special Collections (Wilson Library 6th floor) on the Western Washington University campus.

Information:

• Thu 4/25/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 4/26/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 4/29/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 4/30/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/1/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/2/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/3/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/6/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/7/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/8/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/9/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

The Changing Nature of Democracy in 20th-century Colombia

Talks/Lectures

Professor A. Ricardo López-Pedreros of WWU’s History Department will provide an overview of his new book on the changing nature of democracy in 20th-century Colombia. He will explore how the Colombian middle class created a model of democracy based on free-market ideologies, private property rights, material inequality, and an emphasis on a masculine work culture. This model, which naturalized class and gender hierarchies, provided the groundwork for Colombia's later adoption of neoliberalism and inspired the emergence of alternate models of democracy and social hierarchies in the 1960s and 1970s that helped foment political radicalization. By highlighting the contested relationships between class, gender, economics, and politics, López-Pedreros theorizes democracy as a historically unstable practice that exacerbated multiple forms of domination, thereby prompting a rethinking of the formation of democracies throughout the Americas. López-Pedreros is Associate Professor of History at WWU. He is author of "Makers of Democracy: A Transnational History of the Middle Classes in Colombia." This talk is offered as part of the Western Libraries Reading Series, dedicated to showcasing the scholarly and creative work of faculty and staff who are engaged in research, writing, and teaching at Western. For more information, please contact Michael Taylor, Michael.Taylor@wwu.edu, 360-650-3097.

Information:

• Thu 5/9/19 at 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Nobody Goes Home Sad: Photographs of the Gallery 6 Poets, 1956-2015

Art Show, Installations, History/Science, Photography

Historical photographs by Walter Lehrman and John Suiter showing intimate portraits of trailblazing poets and authors from the Beat generation of the 1950s. Featured poets include Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, Gary Snyder, Michael McClure, and Philip Whalen, who are shown attending parties, sitting for impromptu portrait paintings, and giving public readings of their work. This series of rare photographs and original publications gives a glimpse into the lives and inspiration of these great figures of 20th century literature. The exhibit is free and open to the public, and is available for viewing Monday-Friday from 11:00am-4:00pm (closed weekends and holidays) in Special Collections (Wilson Library 6th floor) on the Western Washington University campus.

Information:

• Fri 5/10/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/13/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/14/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/15/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/16/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/17/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/20/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/21/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/22/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/23/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/24/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 5/27/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 5/28/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 5/29/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 5/30/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 5/31/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 6/3/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 6/4/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 6/5/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 6/6/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 6/7/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 6/10/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 6/11/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 6/12/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 6/13/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 6/14/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 6/17/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 6/18/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 6/19/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 6/20/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 6/21/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Mon 6/24/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Tue 6/25/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Wed 6/26/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Thu 6/27/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
• Fri 6/28/19 at 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM