Previous Page

Bioluminescence Paddle with the Community Boating Center

Tour

Explore the darkest corners of Bellingham Bay and watch the magic of luminescent plankton light up right under your boat. Bioluminescence is the production and emission of light by a living organism. It is found throughout marine habitats, and lucky for us, can be found locally in Bellingham Bay, where bioluminescent phytoplankton light the water each summer from June - September. Since phytoplankton are invisible to the naked eye, they are often forgotten, but when you witness phytoplankton luminesce, the experience is as unforgettable as seeing a whale. Often, our Bioluminescence Paddles sell out, so we recommend reserving your space as far in advance as possible. This paddle is only offered during the summer months when bioluminescent plankton are visible in Bellingham Bay. Bring family, friends, or a date! Bioluminescence is a magical experience for any and all to enjoy together.

Dates in your area:
Community Boating Center
• Fri 7/26/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 7/27/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Fri 8/2/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 8/3/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Fri 8/9/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 8/10/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Fri 8/16/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 8/17/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Fri 8/23/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 8/24/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Fri 8/30/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 8/31/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Fri 9/6/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
• Sat 9/7/19 at 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM