Previous Page

1889: Blazes, Rails, and the Year of Statehood

History/Science

A year of big dreams, big burns, and big politics, 1889 captured a place in our history as a time of great prosperity and adversity. The face of Washington changed. Pioneers arrived, and townsfolk rebuilt from the rubble. Finally, on November 11, 1889, Washington rose as the 42nd state in the union. This exhibit from Legacy Washington introduces you to the people and events shaping the territory in the days leading up to statehood.

Dates in your area:
Whatcom Museum - Old City Hall
• Sat 4/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 4/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 4/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 4/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 4/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 5/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 5/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 5/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 5/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 5/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 5/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 5/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 5/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 5/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 5/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 5/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 5/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 5/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 5/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 5/31/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/2/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/9/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/16/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/23/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/26/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/28/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/30/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 7/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/4/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 7/5/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 7/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/7/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 7/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/11/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 7/12/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 7/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/14/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 7/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/18/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 7/19/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 7/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/21/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM